Published on March 14th, 2013 | by John I.0
Things to Do Before Deleting Your Facebook Account
Regardless of the reason for which you want to delete your Facebook account, there are some important things to do prior deletion. Your desire to flee from the most popular social networking website may be justified, but the procedure itself could be more complicated than you may expect. It is important for anyone who has a Facebook account to understand the difference between deleting an account and its deactivation. A permanent deletion does not allow you to regain access to the account again and it is lost forever. The second option allows a recovery, while the first one does not. Before you click delete, some steps should be followed.
Verify the Applications that Are Connected
Many websites use your Facebook user and password for allowing you to log in. If you decide to delete the Facebook account, you will not be able to log in to those websites either. If the Apps are popular, like Pandora, Foursquare, or Pinterest they could allow you to modify the log in data and you may be able to use your Twitter information, or just your email. If you use Spotify, you will lose the account permanently if you delete the Facebook account and it may be good to proceed differently in this case. You can unfriend everybody, erase pictures and data, but the account must be left intact. An alternative may be to create another Facebook account with a different email, just for Spotify. But, this could mean to rebuild everything from scratch and the first solution is usually the better one.
Download All Valuable Details About You
If you want to have the history of all your activity on Facebook, but erase it from the web, there is one easy method of doing this, by clicking Account Settings, then General and there you will find the option of downloading a copy of all data. Three locations exist, in which you can find the option:
- Expanded archive: applications, logins and cookies.
- Downloaded info: photos, posts, messages, conversation history and others.
- Activity log: comments on posts, searches, used applications, etc.
Collect the Birthdays of Your Friends
There are two ways of collecting birthdays on Facebook: by sending a message to every friend that you want this information from before you delete your account and by using the birthdays application, but this could be annoying.
Get Contact Information from Friends
Even if you delete the Facebook account, you may still need the personal data of your friends for contacting them through other means. For making this possible, be sure you download all their contact details.